Making Labels

When I first decided that I needed to put labels in my purses, to ya know, “be professional”, I did some online searching on how to make your own fabric labels, and found this:

http://craftingagreenworld.com/2009/01/23/5-ways-to-make-your-own-fabric-labels/

Of the five methods, I liked the method presented here best:

http://allysonhill.typepad.com/photos/make_fabric_labels/1.html

She does a really good job of explaining the process, and her photos are wonderful. It was extremely helpful in the begining. Over the course of doing it a dozen times though, I have found a few improvements, which I would like to share. I will assume that you already have your template prepared, and you have your roll of photo fabric (which you purchased at JoAnn Fabrics with a 50% off coupon). You will cut the fabric into 8.5″ X 11″ sheets and follow the instructions on the package (or Allyson’s tutorial) to print, wash, and iron the fabric dry.

Now, here is where I will diverge from Allyson’s tutorial. She irons and cuts her labels out, and then dips each end in Fray Check…one by one. I do not have that kind of patience. Here’s what I do:

IMG_4967  IMG_4968

Iron the creases for the labels and then draw a line of Fray Check across the fabric where you will cut the tags. [I used Stop Fraying this time because I was out of Fray Check and it was a mistake. Stop Fraying is not water soluable (I had to use acetone to get it off my fingers) and it dries to a tacky state that is very annoying to work with].  You do not have to do the bottom edge because it will be inside a seam.

Then, use your rotary cutter and ruler to cut the labels out:

IMG_4969  IMG_4970

Make sure the strips are folded when you cut them so both sides are identical.

Easy Peasy. I did 4 pages in about an hour, start to finish, including 15 minutes for the ink to dry after printing. Not bad!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

